Keepin It Real

It’s officially been a week since I threw back the creepy crawlers.

Still alive? Check. No anaphylactic shock? Check. Worms still cookin? Double check. Over all this week wasn’t bad. Here’s a run down of notable events:

Day 1- 3– Life as usual

Day 4- 8– I experienced a little extra nausea in the mornings. I say extra, because this is generally the case… just seems to be a bit amplified. However that could be because my head has been in a constant state of brain fog/headache. I’ve never been there but I’m pretty sure this is what it feels like to be hung over.

Day 6- 8– BM’s, though still formed are getting softer and less formed… going more often, maybe 6x a day now. More cramping and pain than usual and some blood, but nothing that makes me want to throw myself against a wall.

So that’s where we are. Correction, me. That’s where I am. I’ve read that day 12 or 13 is when the worms molt and migrate to the colon, so that’s when I will most likely experience the bulk of any unpleasant side effects. Good times. But seriously I can’t wait for them to jiggle down there.

In the interest of full disclosure, let me tell you what else I’m doing:

  • Probiotics. I’ve taken them non-stop for 6 years, and tried all different suppliers. Right now I’m taking Primal Defense. For all I know it works just as well as anything, and I don’t have to keep it refridgerated which just makes my life easier.
  • VitD. Gotta have this throughout the New England winter.
  • Biotin. Did I mention I’m losing all my hair? My doc told me this would help. It doesn’t stop my hair from falling out but it does help new hair grow back. It’s times like these I wish I was a boy so I could get a buzz cut and call it a day.
  • Multi-Vit. Plan and simple. Gets the job done.
  • Iron. Last time I had my iron levels checked they were not surprisingly lacking, so I’m on a supplement for the time being…
  • Biological meds. I take several homeopathic “tinctures” and pills, before and after meals. They are whats left from my trip to Switzerland where I was being treated with Biological Medicine at Paracelsus Klinic in November.
  • High-dose Vit. C infusion. I get a high dose of Vit C along with some other homeopathic meds from Paracelsus pumped in me through an IV every Friday. This helps boost the immune system, which is especially important as being on Prednisone lowers one’s immunity.
  • Prednisone. 15 mgs. boo. give me back my hair.
  • Gluten free/Dairy Free Diet. Even though gluten and dairy are found in 90% of foods, this is the easiest diet I’ve done since getting sick. I don’t even mind it. Do I miss real bread? Um, yes. a million times yes. Is eating it worth bloody diarrhea? NOPE.

Otherwise, I try to exercise 30 min. a day, 4-5x a week. My bones are crack’a’lackin so I decided to get movin before I can’t move…. and I’ve come to terms with the fact that when I squat to sit on the toilet, no matter how often I do it, it doesn’t actually count as a real squat.

So, that’s basically week one. Tonight my husband and I are planning on taking a trip to the mall & you can bet I’ll be carrying a my usual “spare pair” (that’s a spare pair of underwear, for those of you who are confused at the term because you don’t poop your pants or are not yet over 90). Needless to say, while I wait for my worm babies to do work… I’m not banking on any miracles… just keepin’ it real.

Leave a Reply

